What better way to celebrate Collingwood’s proud heritage than by going through old photographs. Say hello to the students of Room 11, Collingwood Victoria School, 1927!
Ken Nettleton (right, leaning on car)
One of Collingwood’s most photographed heritage structures is the former Anglican Church Rectory. Two-storey, Victorian Gothic, rubble-built Anglican Church Rectory with ashlar quoins, sills and lintels, varied fenestration and decorated gables and dormers (c. 1875).
Heritage Week February 19th to 25th
As a part of Collingwood Heritage Week 2018 the Collingwood Heritage Committee hosted an information session Thursday, February 22, 2018 from 5:00 p.m. until 7:00 p.m. in the 3rd Floor Community Rooms of the Collingwood Public Library.
The event passed along information about Collingwood’s rich and vibrant history as well as information on what is involved in owning a heritage property.
Kandas Bondarchuk (Heritage Committee staff resource) and Ron Martin (Heritage Committee Technical Advisor). Kandas and Ron covered:
– A brief history of Collingwood and the creation of the Heritage District
– What a heritage designation means and the benefits of designation
– Understanding the differences between types of designation
– Financial Programs for Heritage Property Owners
– Rules regarding demolition and the Ministries Heritage Toolkits
– Heritage Permits and Heritage Impact Assessments
– Overview of the Heritage District By-law/signage
– The Heritage Committee’s role
Betty Donaher, Chair of the Collingwood Heritage Committee, presented Heritage Awards to highlight two downtown renovation projects.
Right Photo: Tim Cormick & Susan Himel – 35 Simcoe Street
From L-R: Mayor Cooper, Susan Himel, Tim Cormick, Betty Donaher.
Left Photo: Andrew (& Lynda) Conway – 78 Hurontario Street
From L-R: Mayor Cooper, Andrew Conway and Betty Donaher.
(Heritage Award Photos supplied by the Town of Collingwood)
Look Up Tour
You can take a self guided “Look Up Tour” in summer, fall, spring and yes, winter!”
The Collingwood Heritage Committee has launched a unique, self-guided walking tour through the town streets. Learn about the outstanding work of Collingwood’s early architects and see various architectural styles, many of which unique to Collingwood, used to build some of the town’s earliest homes and buildings.
Margaret Mooy planted the seeds that would eventually grow into the Look Up Tour. “I was at a conference in Peterborough and I saw a poster that was promoting Look Up Peterborough. I became quite excited about it, purchased it, and brought it back to Collingwood to share with our Heritage Committee.”
Committee members liked the concept, and work soon began to introduce a similar heritage walk to Collingwood. Margaret says people often miss some interesting building features when passing by because they don’t take the time to look up. “We hope they’ll see a variety of architectural features that we have here in Collingwood, and grow to appreciate them. For example, some people don’t notice the flower pot design near the eaves of some of the properties, so to get them to start looking up and appreciate the variety of some of the properties we have here is really a good thing.”
While Mooy got the ball rolling, Heritage Committee member Candice Currie picked the ball up and ran with it. Currie has produced a brochure and poster highlighting some of Collingwood’s heritage homes and buildings.
“When working on this project, one of the things we realized was that some of the most unique architectural features were found when you actually looked up at a building including interesting window details and roof lines. So what we want people to realize is not to look at the entirety of the property but to look at some of the unique features the property has.”
Downtown Heritage Walk
In addition to the popular Look Up Tour, the Heritage Committee offers Downtown Heritage Walks. Learn about how the downtown evolved and see many of the building’s historical highlights defined by the many intriguing characters who built and lived in them.
Not sure about the date, but this old photo was taken inside the former Frank Nettleton home on Third Street in Collingwood.
Gladys Nettleton (McNabb) posing for a picture on the steps of the Catholic Church on Elgin Street
A working day at the old Grant Trunk Railway Office in Collingwood. It was situated where Olde Town is today.
Ice Carnival – Collingwood Community Arena – 1958 – note the glass windows around the arena
Labour Day Parade in downtown Collingwood – 1946. Note the Kohl’s Ladies Wear sign in the background
V-E Day Parade in downtown Collingwood. Note the Patterson’s Ladies Wear and Laver’s Meals signs in the background.
The shiny new Collingwood Terminals shortly after construction was completed
Remembering Doors Open Collingwood
The Town of Collingwood shared its rich history with visitors and town residents on Saturday and Sunday September 29th and 30th (2007) during Doors Open Collingwood. The doors were open to some of Collingwood’s finest heritage, cultural and natural sites including the Collingwood Town hall, churches, our museum, downtown stores, art galleries, restaurants and coffee shops and the waterfront/harbour region. Visitors were welcome to tour the various locations at their leisure and were encouraged to talk to the many local historians to learn more about Collingwood’s proud past. In addition, guided walking tours were offered to take visitors along the streets of Collingwood to view some of the town’s grand homes and churches. You may have seen Charlie Chaplin wandering throughout the streets of Historic Downtown Collingwood. World Class Mime Artist Michael Carl O’Neil entertained everyone, returning for another visit to Doors Open Collingwood. The weather was perfect for those who decided to join the Bruce Trail Association for a hike along Blue Mountain. The views from the top of the Niagara Escarpment and early fall colours were magnificent. Many enjoyed viewing Collingwood, the lighthouse and the Niagara Escarpment from a unique vantage point by taking part in a Summer Bound Harbour Tour. The Collingwood Downtown Farmer’s Market was a popular attraction on Saturday September 29th.
Doors Open Ontario was launched in 2002. Since that time, nearly two million visits have been made to heritage sites participating in this exciting initiative. In 2007, hundreds of communities participated in over 40 events across the province, with Doors Open Collingwood being one of the more popular destinations.
For more information about all aspects of Heritage Collingwood, visit www.heritagecollingwood.com
CLICK HERE to return to main News Headlines